A story, as it unfolds.

19th February 2016:

tumblr_o2t0pcd2vm1qbeqiro1_500

“I’m wonderstruck, blushing all the way home…”

I’ve made a decision. Tomorrow I say something…I still don’t know if I’ll carry it through or even have the right opportunity. But it’s time.. I need to say what’s been on my mind for months, maybe even a year. There’s this guy I’ve met a few times, no more times than I can count on two hands. But those few times have been all it’s taken to become enchanted by him. I work with his Mum and the things I’ve heard, the stories she tells and the insights only a mother can share have intrigued me even more.

I want to get to know him. I want to talk to him and hear his stories for myself. I want to stare at his grin a little longer than I usually can. I want to ask about his travels and tell him about my wanderlust too. I want to compare everything we love and dance to and think about. And who knows, maybe my gut is right. Or maybe I’m wrong. But all I know is, life is too short. You never know these things unless you try. And searching high and low for Mr Right may never work out if he’s been stood right in front of you to begin with…

He’s back in the country after this weekend and if I don’t say something now I’m not sure I ever will. The first thing and most important thing to know about me is that I’m a hopeless romantic.

So here goes…Wish me luck.. God knows I need it 🙈💘😊


20th July 2016:

“For the one I never told”


17th December 2016:

“For the one I’ve not told… yet”


20th January 2017:

I always was one for hesitating and making double sure. And now? Well, we’re meeting up next week for coffee.

Sometimes things take longer than you expected them to. Sometimes you have to dig even deeper than you thought possible for just one ounce courage to take that first step. And sometimes jumping feet first into the unknown is less scary than never saying anything at all.

A few years and a whole lot of almost’s later, I got myself here. For that coffee. For a few hours. For a chance to see if it really will be everything I imagined.

And if all goes well? Maybe, just maybe, I’ll have the chance to tell him how enchanted I was to meet him…

Wish me luck x


25th January 2017:

Today was the day. I met him for that coffee (or in my case two teapots worth of tea in a bid to calm my nerves). I’ve never known my stomach flip so much over a mere meeting with a human. I’d happily take a gruelling job interview than do that again. But once we got past that part? It was lovely. I truly mean that. Part of me is feeling like I can relax a little now, after all, the first step is the very worst! We spoke about funny stories, family, adventure, religion and jokes. I’ll certainly suggest meeting up again, and if we do I’ll certainly be more myself too – the calmer, more relaxed version anyway!

Before we met, I had just got a new tattoo: in short it’s a constellation, symbolising the universe itself and all it’s stars and meanings, and a Pale Blue Dot (see Carl Sagan’s quotes), symbolising our very own planet, a mere pale blue dot in the vastness that is everything else. Looking at it, it was a fitting day to get it done. In the grand scheme of everything, all my worry and anxiety about this day and getting to know him, pales in comparison to all that has been before me and all that stretches ahead. And maybe the universe itself has its plans for where all this leads, whether it be nowhere or somewhere magical. And you know what… I’m happy with where I am in this journey. Right here, right now.


2nd March 2017:

Time can change everything. A year, 6 months, or a moment can seem like a lifetime ago. Today was one of those “who’d have thought it” moments, one when you want to stop time dead just to see how far you’ve come. Today was a day to be myself, let go a little more, go someplace beautiful with someone I’ve been wanting to know.

A castle, a maze, one moment of fear and even more moments of calm. It could be the start of something special but either way, I know I’ve grown the past few weeks. From someone who walked with their fears and reservations rather than their dreams, into someone who has bitten the bullet when she’s not yet entirely sure who it is that’s holding the gun. Love may not be the answer or the end goal, though what a lovely intention that would be, but whatever it is that’s making my heart a little lighter and my head a little clearer is something I’m willing to chase a little while longer.


8th April 2017:

You’ve taken a break from life this week. I’d like to do that too sometimes. I often joke about fleeing to a remote Scottish island, accessible only by boat, where I can see the stars and hear nothing but waves. In reality I would if I could. A close second would be to follow your lead and get in a car, head north, and get away from people for a little while. And that’s another thing I admire about you. Your sense of adventure, your ability to do what you need to do, your sense of freedom and space. It’s funny because after all these months I’ve spent slowly getting to know you, to start to fall a little bit in love with you, now I’m scared.

I’m not scared of you… I think I’m scared of love. I don’t know why but every so often in between the joy and anticipation I get scared. And it’s crazy right? Isn’t this exactly what I wanted? Because a year ago I would have done anything to say I had spent time with you, to look at my phone and see I had your number, and for you to ask me how my week has been. Yet even so, I’m terrified and of what I don’t really know. But I don’t want to run away from you on account of being scared. Not now, not after all this time getting here.

Sometimes the things that scare us the most are the things we truly need. Change is scary and for me this is the biggest change to stare adult me in the face. Sometimes our fear isn’t a fear of danger but a fear of losing the thing we want standing right in front of us. So I’ll be scared and I’ll be nervous but I’ll remember why I started this, whatever this is. Love has to start somewhere. And I’m not so scared that I won’t do everything I can to see it through.


15th May 2017:

We met up again recently, a bank holiday afternoon. We joked and walked and I tried my very best to show you who you’re really spending your time with. But nerves and my reservation continue to get the better of me. And I want to change that, of course I do. I want to break the ice – no – the Iceberg. I want to get to that part where I’m more excited than anxious and more than absolutely anything, more open to enjoying every minute of this. Because despite all the scary parts I am enjoying it. I’ve been feeling a little insecure lately – am I doing this right? Should I say that? Am I being too pushy? – I’m being the over analytical person I said I’d never be. So with some helpful advice I’ve calmed down and I know it’s only scary because I’ve never done anything like this before. It’s the greatest leap into the unknown for a hopeless romantic is it not? Because it has the potential to be the biggest, but best, change I’ve been impatiently waiting for.

And meanwhile, I’m starting to quite like the way you sometimes find yourself in my everyday thoughts…

Who knew that when I see a world map, my eyes would flicker to wherever you have travelled. That every time I see a white car pass my heart would skip a little, and practically jump though my chest if the roof was black too. That when I hear a police siren in the distance I wonder if it’s you. That when I listened to my old favourite songs they would feel brand new all over again. That hearing your name out loud sounds different to any name I’ve ever heard before. That suddenly everything in the world seems different just because I know you…


2nd June 2017:

This isn’t a happy update despite how much I wished it was. Things have been very slow, very quiet, and lately I’ve been convincing myself that it’s ok. Isn’t it? That it’s ok to wait a week or more to hear from him. That it’s ok to send him an invite to a concert we would both love, and for him to have still not responded either way. That it’s ok to not know if he’s still shy or doesn’t feel anything at all. I know he doesn’t owe me anything and I also know he’s very busy, has a stressful job and that scatty mind that I find so endearing. But I’m starting to feel doubtful for the first time. And this time not in myself or my intentions… but of him. It’s a feeling of wanting nothing more than to be wanted by the person you want. Nothing more and nothing less at this stage. And feeling like a mug when you have no clues, no signs, and nothing concrete to prove your suspicions are right or wrong.

He’s a closed book right now and I know I’ve been guilty of that a little too. But I’m ready to start a new chapter, and I had hoped it would include him. A lot of people would tell me to walk away now, find another fish in the sea, forget he exists. But it’s not easy to erase someone who’s been on your mind long enough to feel at home there. I’ll give it some time, and in doing so give him some time too. Time to decide what he wants, because I have to remember this story is as much about him as it is me. And time for me to live my life again in the meantime. To live for my friends, my health and my work. And like a watched pot never boils, just maybe he will become a part of that life in his own good time.

After all, there is no correct timeline for happiness, and certainly not for love.

“Where there is love, nothing is too much trouble. And there is always time”.

To be continued…

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

