Hopeless romantic, full time dreamer.

“You may say I’m a dreamer… But I’m not the only one”

Okay, so maybe I’m not a dreamer in the same profound and world-peace aspiring way that John Lennon wisely meant, but those words still resonate with a lot of us who are out here just trying to live more than ordinary lives. None more so than me.

A self confessed hopeless romantic, I spend my life searching for some rose-tinted happiness, be it by reading endless books about love, chasing sunsets or watching (and crying at) proposal videos on YouTube. And yes, spending hours thinking about what life is going to chuck at me and if I’ll end up as happy as the girls in the Disney films I grew up watching. And don’t worry, I know what you’re all thinking – HAPPY ENDINGS ARE FOR FAIRYTALES! Right?! But I’m not stupid, I know life isn’t like the films (Love, Actually I’m looking at you). But isn’t that all the more reason to make the most of the moments that are close to perfect? Is there any harm in seeking out those moments even if they’re fleeting? I don’t see why we shouldn’t be allowed to dream just a little…

Which brings me to my next point. The world could do with more dreamers. Most of us grow out of that in our early teens when schoolwork, friendships, relationships and reality takes over. Gone are the princesses and dreams of being a ballerina as money becomes a very real worry, a career means more paperwork and less tutu’s and even relationships seem more like a game of survival than a source of happiness. If that’s called growing up then I’ll happily sing from the rooftops in an over the top, final scene of a musical kind of way, “Count me ouuuuuuut!”

I know. Life is going to be made up of the dreamers and the practical thinkers and the inventors and the leaders. Most people are probably a combination of all of these deep down and I guess it’s important to realise everyone has their place. After all, Rome wasn’t built in a day with dreams and prayers alone. But a little dreaming never hurt anyone. All those same inventors an entrepreneurs, married couples, once had dreams to achieve what they’ve become. So maybe there’s something to be said for following the crazy dreams that keep you up at night.

 

Maybe one day something could make me dream less and worry more, and pack all my hopes for love into a tightly sealed box out of sight. But until that day comes and maybe even despite that day, those daydreams and hopes for the future go a long way to making life more bearable amongst all the dull deadlines and the heartbreaks…

Love, Suzy.

Leave a Reply

