Maybe it’s time we threw our mirrors away.

There are so many rules and pressures regarding appearance that could describe and divide a million people out there in the world. But why on earth do we feel divided by things we can’t control? Why? Because that’s what we’ve been taught. And I’m no different. Tonight I had the classic thought of a young woman insecure with herself. Then I realised.. What could I possibly gain from worrying about what people may think of me… and my looks? My answer was, absolutely nothing.

It may have taken me 20 years to figure this one out but better late than never.. At the end of the day, if someone is going to judge my character, think they know what makes me laugh, assume they know what my eyes look like when I see someone I love, based on what I look like, then I don’t want them in my life. No one worth anything to me would judge me in that way.

Humans are made of emotion and bones and skin and souls. What we do with our canvas and how our canvas was made is beyond anyone’s control including our own. I just wish people would see past the facades we all create and start looking for the people we want to spend all night with, not someone who’s picture we could hang on our wall. In the same way you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, not every pretty face has a pretty heart.

Remember that next time you feel insecure. We’re all flawless, we just forget that sometimes.

Love, Suzy.

Leave a Reply

